h1

I was in my house and you kept knocking at my mind.

December 18, 2011

I didn’t witness it, but my mom did.

In 2005, a friend of mine found out she had osteosarcoma after hurting her leg on vacation or something with her family. She went to school for a little while longer, but soon stopped so she can be treated. She never attended another day. At the beginning of the next school year in late 2005, I was going through some problems, eventually stopped going to school, and rarely spoke to my friends during that time. March 2006, less than a week before my friend’s birthday, she passes away. I’m a mess, I never saw her during the time she was sick, but just a week later she was going to have a birthday party where I would have seen her.

Fast forward maybe a month or so, my mom goes to visit my uncle for a weekend. She’s sitting on the couch in his apartment with him, and they are watching some TV or a movie or something. Someone then knocks on the door, and my uncle gets up to answer it. He opened the door, the stranger (which as it turned out just moved into the apartment building next to my uncle’s not even a week or two earlier) peers in, looks at my mom and says (something to the effect of), “I was in my house and you kept knocking at my mind, [my mom’s name], and I just had to come by. [My friend’s name] is alright. She’s okay now and all the pain is gone.”

My mom just sits on the couch, dumbfounded. She had to have been thinking “How on Earth does this stranger who has never spoken to me nor my brother know my name let alone about my daughter’s deceased friend?!” He then introduces himself, they chat for a moment, and my uncle invites him in. They then spent the next several hours talking to him. He ends up telling my mom (and probably my uncle) things that there is not a single “rational” way he could have known about. He did things like describing in great detail how my sisters and I look and act (there were no pictures of us on display and we do not look like our mom (nor my uncle), he described my pets (I had and still have an “exotic” animal that most people don’t know exists let alone guessing first try), described my dad, he started talking about my dad’s family, and that he had an older sister (he said the name of, the correct name that my grandparents gave her) who was never born (which is true; she was stillborn a couple years before my dad was born), he also said that my dad had a half sister in (I think) Vietnam, from when my grandpa was over there during the war. We do not have a way of proving that, though. He then talks about my mom’s (now ex) boyfriend and his kids, describes them, insinuates that one of them is gay (or possibly bisexual. The one in question is still young, so I’d wager it’s just a matter of a few more years until we know for sure), and talks about how I felt about her BF (I hated him), and also talks about the problems I was going through.

He basically went on telling my mom this kind of stuff, some things I’m not going to repeat and other’s I have forgotten, but you get the point. Some stranger singles out my mother, then says shit that is not possible to know unless you were me or my mom or specific family members “in the know”. (Or at all if you count the half-sister in Vietnam)

– Posted by Pokemen; Reddit

Leave a comment