h1

When I was 8 years old, my mother made the decision to leave my dad.

December 22, 2011

When I was 8 years old, my mother made the decision to leave my dad. This was back before cell phones or email or any other way to easily find people.

I remember seeing suitcases open on the living room floor and not knowing what was going on.

Maybe half an hour before we were going to leave, my dad called my mother on the house phone letting her know that he was leaving work and coming home early. Prior to this incident, he’d never had a sick day or left work early in his entire career. He called to let her know that he was checking himself into a rehab hospital for alcoholism, and she decided to stay with him. He had no idea she was packing and said later that “something just told me I needed to call.”

If she had gone, if he had waited another thirty minutes to call, if he’d been a single day late, we never would have seen my dad again. More than twenty years later, they’re still married and he’s still sober. The biggest coincidence of my life.

– Posted by bunnyribbit; Reddit

Leave a comment