h1

Every single toy in my son’s toy box goes off.

January 25, 2013

So, mine happened July 4th of this past year.

I was in bed with my already asleep one year old. I was in that place between being asleep and awake. I had the TV on with the volume really low because I can’t sleep without it. Just as I’m really falling asleep, every single toy in my son’s toy box goes off. EVERY toy, at the same time. Anything with batteries in it is lighting up and playing music and going crazy. I literally fall out of bed and run to turn the lights on and as I do, everything turns off at the same time. I figure with all the noise going on, my son would wake up. Nothing. Kid is sound asleep.

I grab my cell phone and start heading downstairs to call my dad and generally freak out. As I’m coming down the stairs, I hear the garage door open and the door leading from the kitchen to the garage slam. I screamed as loud as I could and ran back upstairs and locked my bedroom door. The baby and I were home alone. Who the fuck came into the house through the garage? Or, who just left the house through the garage?

I can’t get a hold of my dad and finally get my step mom on the phone. She comes over with her mother and they’re both really shaken. Now, they’re very Mexican, and very Catholic. So, my step mom’s mom brings over holy water and a rosary and comes in the house and starts praying and throwing holy water everywhere. I go up stairs to get the baby, and leave the bedroom door open. As I’m picking up the baby, I look out my bedroom door, and as soon as my step mom’s mom sets foot on the landing outside my bedroom, the lights in the house start to flicker and my one year old starts laughing hysterically. She keeps walking towards my room and when she steps inside of my room, every light in the house went off.

Needless to say, we got the fuck out of there and spent the night in a hotel. Lights didn’t come back on for days. Electricians couldn’t figure out why in the world they were off in the first place. My son and I still live in the house and the only odd things still happening are doors opening and closing on their own and floors creaking like someone’s walking on them. I’ve dealt with it by basically staying away from home until right before dark, then locking ourselves in the bedroom. Moving out next month and I could not be more excited.

– Posted by kristinaGREY; Reddit

Leave a Reply

