h1

A banging on the door, followed with suffocating voice begging for help

June 26, 2012

I like to think of myself as a pretty skeptical person. Someone who doesn’t claim every other, seemingly unexplainable event to be occult, just because it simply is easier to explain things when claiming the “unexplainable” being of supernatural nature. You could say that I prefer fact before fiction. Despite this, there have been times in my life, where logic and common sense just didn’t fit in.

In Sweden most people are atheists. We’re born in to the Christian church, and stay there, only to take part of the four main events the typical swede attends to during his lifetime. These are baptism, confirmation, weddings and funerals.

This story takes place at my confirmation camp. I was about 15 years old, and although most kids are in it for the celebration party (meaning presents) after the final ceremony, I actually somewhat did believe in God. This is quite irrelevant for the story though, so I’ll just skip to the strange event that took place.

It was mid-day, and I’m on my way back to the dormitory, after just having stuffed myself with a nice meal at the dining hall. I was all alone, which was quite nice after spending the last few days with people around you at all times. I was strolling, taking in that weird old smell that all old houses seems to have, and listening to the floorboards creak under my weight. It was all kind of peaceful.

To get to my room, I had to walk up a staircase, which was next to a door. No one had a clue what was behind that door, since it was closed at all times, and my guess is that no one even cared. It was just an old door, in an old house.

Without even thinking about said door, I started to walk up the stairs. As I did, there was an instant banging on the door I just mentioned. With it came a raspy, suffocating voice, which cried out “Help! Help!”. While standing there and listening, the whole procedure did repeat itself. The banging, the begging. As a 15 year old boy, in a house filled with other 15 year old pranksters, I just shrugged it off. I assumed that a couple of my friends were behind that door, trying to scare anyone who was passing by, and with that I started to walk the stairs again. Half way up, when the banging and crying for help, still hadn’t stopped; I had to second think my decision to just leave. What if there actually was someone in there, in need of aid?

With that I made my way back down the stairs. As I reached the door, I started to talk back to the person inside. I asked some basic question like “Who is this?”, “what’s wrong?” and so on. As no one answered, and the banging and the raspy voice were constant, I grabbed the handle. The door was locked.

This is where I turned to logic. If this person was truly in need, he would have responded to my questions, or at least attempted to unlock the door. After all, he was banging on it, which meant that he was right by it. Satisfied with my conclusion, I finally made my way up the stairs.

As I passed the girls dorm, I did notice that they were all worked up about something. Some of them where screaming, others hugging, and some just jumping up and down. Naturally, as the gentleman I am I asked what’s wrong. Two of the girl start repeating a story that’s identical to what I just experienced, and this is where things actually started to get really weird. It turned out that unlike me, the girls actually took the banging and cries for help really seriously. In fact they panicked and started to pull the handle as soon as they heard the noises. The door was stuck, but they were not giving up. As they repeatedly were pulling the handle and pushing the door, it finally gave in. At that very moment, the noises abruptly stopped. There were just the two girls, staring into a completely normal, totally empty, office-like room…

– Posted by SonOfJacob; Truthisinhere

Leave a Reply

