h1

Quantum Cigarette

January 17, 2012

I was leaving work with a coworker who was going to give me a ride home. I’m a smoker and he is not so he definitely didn’t want me smoking in his car. I asked if he wanted me to throw it away and he said “Na go ahead and finish up”. So I planned to do just that.

As we stood, I was leaning against his driver side door and he was a few feet in front of me. We were having a conversation about this and that and while that was happening I was puffing on my cigarette.

I kept getting this feeling that I should just throw my cigarette to the ground so we could get going. Basically, he’s giving me a ride home and I’m inconveniencing him by smoking. So, each puff I took made me think of it a little stronger.

One of the drags I had a complete vision of just throwing the cigarette to the ground but I instead held onto it and dropped my arm after the puff.

He said “OK let’s go” thinking that I had dropped the cigarette and was finished.

I said “What are you talking about? I still have to finish.” and I held up my cigarette for him to see.

His eyes got very wide and he shakily pointed to the ground and asked “What’s that then?”

I looked at the ground and sure enough there was a cigarette still lit laying on the ground.

I exclaimed “You have got to be kidding me!” and then I took my own cigarette from my hand and placed it next to the cigarette on the ground. It was an identical length and an identical cherry.

He said “I don’t know how that got there but I watched you throw that to the ground”

We both puzzled over it for a while and eventually we didn’t discuss it any longer.

The thing is that if anyone were to be smoking and throw their butt, it probably wouldn’t be half finished. Also, it probably wouldn’t have been so close to the driver side door and instead in the middle of the parking lot. Furthermore, we were there for many minutes and it should have either burned out by then or at least had an inconsistent ash line.

Regardless of all of that, I to this day believe that if I were to have bagged that cigarette CSI style, it would have matched my DNA.

TLDR: My universe and a quantum universe collapsed in on itself leaving a cigarette that I was smoking to tunnel through to my universe through the intense thought of ridding myself of that cigarette.

– Posted by EnlightenedInsanity; Reddit

Leave a Reply

