h1

Church Bells

January 15, 2012

This also reminded me of a story I haven’t thought of in years. When I was little, my grandfather was rushed to the hospital due to a slew of complications from old age. He had been in and out of the hospital so this wasn’t a huge surprise although we were all really worried. We took him there and returned to my grandmother’s house while a few stayed at the hospital. I was 3 or 4 years old so naturally I was sort of oblivious to the situation. I was playing with my G.I. Joes as I always did on my Grandma’s living room floor before anyone was really up. Out of nowhere my grandma comes running down the stairs all hysterical with my mom running down after her. My grandma looked right at me and said “He’s gone. My god, he’s gone.” I looked at my mom in horror who was standing right behind my grandma and she asked her, “What do you mean mom?” My grandma looked at her and said “I heard bells. Like church bells at it woke me up.” No one else heard anything that morning (and she did not live near a church). “I know it’s him.” she said. “I know he’s gone.” We tried calming her down but it was no use. Right as she sat down the phone rang….and he had passed.

What makes this story really striking is that my other Grandmother (Grandma Mo) showed up for support that same day. She told my Grandma who had just lost her husband that she too had heard bells ringing the morning that her husband died before she ever got a call from the hospital. Eerie.

– Posted by 88mph; Reddit

Leave a Reply

