h1

Billowing Curtains

January 8, 2012

My second story for this post. This happened around 2000-2001. Me, my two bro-in-laws, and my father-in-law (a pastor – I mention this for a reason), all went hunting near Jacksboro in North Texas. My FIL’s mother lived near the area so we spent the night there.

Nothing too outstanding about the house. It was a double-wide that was being remodeled on one end, and she was the only one that lived there. During the day the house didn’t bother me, but at night it did. Probably because I was unfamiliar with it, and the fact that she lived out in the middle of no-where and it was pitch-black outside. Never could put my finger on anything, until this happened.

Anyway, we all settle down for the night, she in her room and we 4 in the living room in our sleeping bags. At some point in the night a breeze begins to blow through the living room. I don’t remember this, but was told this by the other 3 guys. I’m not sure if anyone thought to check a window or not. What I do remember is being nudged by one of my BIL’s, him saying something to the effect of, “Do you feel that?” I was trying to sleep and didn’t answer. I then hear him ask my other BIL the same thing and he responded with a yes.

The way that we were arranged on the floor was side by side, me and my two BILs. My FIL was laying perpendicular to us in another area. We three had our feet pointed toward a large window in the living room. If we were laying on our backs we could see the window plainly.

About the time that the 2nd BIL responded that he did feel the breeze, the curtain on the window blew into the room with a gust. I did feel that. The breeze was still blowing, but when the curtain fell back down, instead of falling flat against the window it fell into the shape of a human. Now this I did see because the gust woke me up even further than my BIL asking about the breeze.

I hear one of them ask the other, “Do you see that?” The other begins to say something like, “Yeah. Where’s my gun?”

I’m all holed up in my sleeping bag, wondering what I should do. About the time that he’s saying that, my FIL sits up from where he’s at, points at the figure behind the curtain and shouts, “I rebuke you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ!” The breeze immediately stopped and the curtain fell flat against the window. He laid back down and I guess fell asleep. My two BILs and I didn’t get a wink of sleep the rest of the night.

The next morning my FIL mentions what happened to his mother. Her response? That she had problems like that before and wasn’t too surprised. She believed that the place was haunted by a demon, but that she didn’t care because it never bothered her directly before.

We had our hunt that morning and took our bags with us. Didn’t stop back by and went directly home. I never went back again, and neither did my BILs. My FIL did, but it was only during the day and he never stayed over night again. She sold the place within the next year, but never gave a reason as to why.

– Posted by Calvus; Reddit

Leave a Reply

