h1

Dream Of The Man With The Knife In His Hand

August 16, 2011

Right after I was born, my parents moved into an old house out in the country. It was built in the early 1900’s and was owned by a farmer. Nobody had lived there for about ten years or so, so he let us stay there for free since my parents were young and just-out-of-college poor. I lived in that house until I was about 6 or 7 and it was always really creepy there at night.

When I was 5 or so, I started having dreams about an old guy who was going to kill me with a knife. In the dreams, I’d be in my bedroom sleeping and wake up (still in my dream, though) to see an older man standing there with a knife. Sometimes he’d just stand there, other times he’d make threatening motions at me, and a few times I’d see a little boy sitting in the corner of my room crying. These dreams continued once or twice a week for at least two months or so.

After convincing my parents to let me sleep in their room, I stopped having the nightmares and soon afterwards began sleeping in my room again. I never had any dreams about the old man again.

However, when I was 10 or so, I saw the movie Halloween and the way Michael Myers was holding a knife reminded me of the dreams. I mentioned the dreams to my best friend, who was watching the movie with me at the time. A few months later he got onto the bus on the way to school extremely excited. He said that he had been talking to his grandpa about Halloween costumes and his grandpa started telling him scary stories.

It turns out that one of his stories involved the house I used to live in. Apparently in the 30’s a man had lived there with his wife and two children; a son and daughter. One day, in the middle of the afternoon, he snapped, stabbing his wife to death and then murdering his two children while they were upstairs playing in their room. He then went outside about 300 yards north of the house, walked out into the middle of a small, shallow pond, and slit his own throat.

I thought my friend was screwing with me, so I convinced my mom to take me to the library so that I could look in some old newspapers for confirmation (never would have thought of it if I hadn’t had to look through old newspapers for a school project the year before). Sure enough, there was a man that had lived there and murdered his family in that manner. There was a picture of room where the children were murdered, and it was my bedroom from a few years before.

I’m reluctant to attribute my dreams to anything supernatural, so I’m guessing that when I was younger I had heard someone mention the murder, but it didn’t really register in my memory other than in dreams. I know that when I was little, I’d get rides in my friend’s grandpa’s combine during corn and wheat harvest… he could have mentioned it then, since he always liked playing tricks on little kids. Either way, when I saw that picture in the newspaper, it freaked me the hell out.

– Posted by bean_sips; Fark

Leave a Reply

