h1

She Was Just Calling To Say

July 5, 2011

I know this thread is pretty old, but I have a personal one to share: my grandmother died two summers ago, suddenly. It was a shock to the family and the wake we held was very somber. My grandmother was very close to her youngest, her only daughter (my Aunt J), who took the death hardest.

At the wake, I was standing in a corner sort of swaying a little bit (exhausted from a redeye flight) and my Aunt J’s husband approached me. He told me Aunt J had been inconsolable the first 24 hours, after getting the call that the police had found her mother’s body. He gave Aunt J a sleeping pill and put her to bed.

His story continued: early the next morning, the phone rang. Aunt J answered, groggy, and her husband woke and heard her stammering into the receiver, then hang up. Aunt J turned to him and said: “That was my mother.”

He was cautious about his reply (he didn’t know if she was too sleepy to remember her mother had been dead for a day and a half): “Yeah? What did she say?”

“She told me she was just calling to say it was beautiful where she was. And that she was very happy,” Aunt J said.

The thing is, her husband said, the phone rang at the EXACT time my aunt and grandmother spoke to each other every day. He told me, standing there at the wake, that he didn’t know what to make of the call, but if it made his wife feel better, he was glad for whatever it was.

None of us have ever questioned Aunt J about it; I feel pretty much the same way as her husband. And part of me hopes that it is beautiful where my grandmother is, and that she’s happy.

– Posted by essoin; Nosleep

Leave a Reply

