h1

Returned Book

July 2, 2011

So… I work in a MICU, and for a couple of years before I became a nurse there, I worked there as a secretary. Anyway, a couple of years before THAT, there was a nurse who had some depression issues, and had gotten in hot water over something (I think it was a documentation/medication thing, not entirely sure). At any rate, he committed suicide.

So, a couple of years later, we’re having a pretty slow weekend night, when I pass by J, RN filing some orders. She says, “You know, the weirdest thing happened tonight.”

“Really, here? You lie,” I laugh.

“No, really, this book right here?” She points to some paperback sitting on the table she’s charting at. “I haven’t seen this book in a long time. I had lent it out, but I figured I’d never see it again.”

“Oh, why?” I’m only half-paying attention.

“Well, I lent it to R about a week before he killed himself. And it just showed back up here, tonight, on my table, when I came back from lunch.”

Then I paid attention! Now, it was possible R had lent to another nurse (before he killed himself) who found it to return to J… but noone who worked that night claimed to have brought it in, and it appeared @ like 2am.

Very weird.

Peace,
S

– Posted by ICURN_NC; Allnurses

Leave a Reply

