h1

Lights On

June 14, 2011

The power went out in my apartment building one night. We were told not to leave the apartment because the emergency lights that were supposed to illuminate the hall were not working. The hallway had no windows. At all. Anywhere. On my floor, which was above any street lights, not enough light even came in from under the apartment doors to illuminate a little patch on the ground. It was pure inky blackness.

After a while of listening to my mp3 player I decided to get up and check the peep hole to see if the lights in the hall were on yet. Sure enough I can see the lights on in the hall. Took me about 1.5 seconds to unlatch the door and fling it open. Complete and utter darkness stares me in the face. This is the part of the movie where the character gets yanked into the shadows by some unseen force never to be seen again so I promptly slammed the door.

I look back into the peep hole a few seconds later and the lights were on again. I did not reopen the door.

– Posted by Lanik_M; Reddit

Leave a Reply

