h1

He looked at me funny and asked me to explain again

June 8, 2011

I stayed with my mom and her boyfriend in an apartment in New York City for about a year. I slept in their spare “bedroom” (a lot of storage had to moved elsewhere for me to sleep there, since no one really has spare rooms in the East Village).

Anyhow, one night I woke up and went to the bathroom and came back and saw an old lady sitting on the bed I was sleeping on. Alarmed I stepped out of the room (the light switch was on the wall outside the room) and when I turned the light on, she was gone.

The next morning, I mentioned it to my mom and her boyfriend and, of all things, he asked what she looked like, so I described her: about my height, a little plump, tight short silvery curls, an old-fashioned plain night-gown and knit slippers. He looked at me funny and asked me to explain again, so I did and he got the strangest look on his face and I asked what the look was for and he said “you just described my grandma, the day she died.” His family has owned the apartment since the 30s or 40s and his grandma died in the same room I was sleeping in.

Later, my sister and her best friend came to stay with us on their spring break, since we were in Manhattan. One morning, after about two days of the visit, her best friend (who was sleeping in my bed, I had rescinded to the couch) at breakfast looked absolutely tired, so we asked him why and he reiterated the exact same story.

tl;dr me and another person both saw my mom’s boyfriend’s dead grandmother in her old bedroom.

– Posted by oorza; Reddit

Leave a Reply

