h1

And Winked.

June 7, 2011

I also do not believe in ghosts, but this still gave me pause.

I came home from work about a month ago to find that my shower was running. My roommate has her own bathroom, so I found that a bit strange. I figured there must be a good reason and made a note to ask her about it when she got out. Fast forward half an hour, the shower is still on and she hasn’t emerged yet. I walk to the bathroom to investigate, and I realize there is no light coming out from under the door. Bizarre. I check the knob – locked. Kind of freaking out now. I text her, expecting to get no response. She writes back immediately, not even home! Meanwhile, I’m running late for dinner so I leave the apartment, not sure if someone is in my bathroom or not.

After I’ve left, she arrives home… finds the bathroom is NOT locked, the lights are NOT off, and the shower is still running. She turns it off, admonishes me for leaving it on during the day.

But I didn’t leave it on during the day. I know this because I towel off in the shower and have done so for many years. She and I are the only ones with keys to the apartment.

I have moved since then.

This also reminds me of another story. I haven’t thought about this in years. When I was around 13, I went shopping at the mall with some friends. As we entered the food court, I noticed three women walking towards us, side by side. The two women on the ends were talking to each other, paying no attention to the woman in the middle. I scanned their faces in passing and suddenly realized that the ignored woman was the spitting image of Arden, my former next door neighbor and close friend of my mother’s, who had died of a brain aneurysm the year before. I was taken aback by this and slowed down, when the woman turned to look at me, smiled broadly, and winked!

The three of them passed us as we kept walking. I finally turned around just a few seconds later to find that…. she was gone! The other two women were still there, chatting away Yet there was an empty space where she had been just a moment before.

Why was I was haunted by someone whose presence in my life was so brief and insignificant? Baffling to say the least.

I still don’t believe in ghosts. I do believe I am losing my mind and have been for quite some time.

– Posted by theloudestshoutout; Reddit

Leave a Reply

