h1

Heaven Is Decaf

June 7, 2011

It’s short, but it’s true.

My grandmother had to wear special shoes because of surgery on her leg that made one leg a couple of inches shorter than the other. This resulted in a shuffle-thump noise that was very distinctive when she walked anywhere in our house (my mother and I lived with her) as we had hardwood floors throughout.

One night I was in from college, at least a year after she died, and was sleeping on the couch in the living room. It adjoins the kitchen in our very small house, and I heard a shuffle-thump make it’s way down the hall into the kitchen where it stopped, and the coffee maker turned on. My grandma was a coffee-holic. I can only assume there’s no caffeine on the other side.

– Posted by SuperSally; Fark

Leave a Reply

