h1

“Shh!”

June 6, 2011

I only have one story, because I don’t believe in ghosts or any of that, but I do have one incident that I can’t explain. I don’t tell many people about it, and I can swear to you before God that this really happened. I still don’t believe in ghosts, but this still freaks me out.

I worked at a school as a janitor for several years some time ago in Maine, and I got a call from another school nearby where I worked to see if I would be interested in cleaning up their school too. It only took me a few hours to do the one, and this meant extra money – so I took it. I would clean the second school later in the night and usually got home before 1:00am.

The first few weeks were fine. I’d clean up and go home. There’s something relaxing about working at your own pace, and I always took my time sweeping and emptying trash. I had the radio on to keep me company.

One night, it must have been later in the night, I was at the new school and had finished the first room in the hallway, locked the door, and started pushing my cart down the hall. The radio was on, but under the music I heard children talking and laughing. The sound was of little kids – not teenagers causing trouble. So I was shocked to hear these kids in school this late at night – what were they doing here? I turned the radio off to get a better sense of where the kids were. At first I heard nothing – and I thought maybe I mis-heard it. Then, just about the time I was going to turn the radio back on, I heard it again. I could hear laughing and some muffled words, but I couldn’t make out what they were saying.

Now, keep in mind that I didn’t once think it was anything but some kids playing around in the school. I was concerned about them being there so late and wondered what kind of parents these kids had.

I track the sounds to the door at the end of the hall, and I can see through the little window in the door that the light is off, but the little window had colored construction paper taped over it, so I couldn’t see in. I can hear the kids giggling as I unlock the door, but just as I push the door open, I could swear I heard one of them say, “Shh!”

I opened the door and turned on the light and saw all of the desks and chairs had been stacked up against the far wall in front of the windows. No kids. And I knew at that second that it wasn’t some kind of prank. I turned around and ran straight down the hall and out the door without locking anything and never went back – I even left the radio. I called the next morning to quit that job.

The principal, who had hired me, asked my why I was quitting, but I didn’t tell her exactly why. I just said that I couldn’t work there anymore. She said that she noticed that I had left one of the rooms unlocked asked me if anything had happened there. I just said that I was sorry and couldn’t take the work. She said she understood and told me that I was the second janitor to quit since they rebuilt that wing of the school. Earlier that year, five children had died in a fire in one of the classrooms.

– Posted by benhenny; Fark

Leave a Reply

