h1

Bob the Ghost

May 29, 2011

This seems as good a place as any to tell this story. I’ll try to be brief and keep it simple, as no amount of details will make this any easier to explain.

I was 17 and dating a girl who lived in a trailer in Indiana. She often talked about how the trailer was haunted by a poltergeist her family called Bob the Ghost. Bob would apparently do things like open drawers or push cups off the kitchen table. I hadn’t witnessed any of this personally.
I was visiting and sitting at the kitchen table with the girl and her mother. Above the table was a small, wall-mounted set of display shelves – kinda like this, but without the backing – with some plates propped up on them.
While we were talking, I saw the girl’s mother glance up, and her eyes went wide. I looked and saw the entire shelf rack, dishes and all, moving straight out, off and away from the wall. It was as if it was sliding smoothly on an invisible track.
The shelf stopped and hovered two feet or so away from the wall and about a foot below the ceiling. It stood completely stable in midair – no wobbling, no shaking. The plates didn’t rattle or shift, and they should have fallen backwards off the shelves the second they moved away from the wall.
The shelf hovered in midair for a few long seconds, and then flung itself down on the kitchen table with tremendous fury. It didn’t fall; there was definite force behind it. The plates smashed, the shelf broke, and glass flew everywhere.
We all jumped up from the table. We stood there, feeling weird and slightly foolish, and then started cleaning up the glass. My girlfriend’s mother later said, “Well, now you’ve met Bob.”

I completely realize this story is insane. Occam’s Razor says either my girlfriend’s mom played an elaborate trick on me, or I’m making this whole story up. All I can do is say that neither of those explanations is true. I am at a complete loss, however, to explain what truly did happen the day I met Bob the Ghost.

– Posted by utterpedant ; Reddit

Leave a Reply

