h1

May 27, 2011

The wife and I bought our current house (semi-detached) 15 years ago from the estate of the previous owner. My wife did ask if the lady who lived there before us had passed away IN the house… she had not.

Our neighbour eventually told us what had happened. Viola (previous owner) was about 80 and slipped on the stairs. She tumbled down and was eventually discovered by the mailman. She was taken to the Hospital where she succumbed to her injuries.

The first Halloween we lived there our non-functioning doorbell came to life. At first I thought it was some kids playing a Halloween prank so I hid in the living room with a powerful flashlight (10k candles) to scare the kids. As the dog and I are looking at the door, the doorbell goes off.

One day, I was working from home and I heard someone falling down the stairs. It’d a very distinct sound. At first I thought it was the dog because she was a puppy at the time, but she ended up being in the backyard at the time. Then I thought it was my neighbour who had a small child. I knocked on their door and thankfully it wasn’t them either.

When my daughter was a toddler, any time she would ask if we had ghosts, I just told her it was Viola watching out for her.

– Posted by olafthebent; Reddit

Leave a Reply

