h1

Who Are You?

May 24, 2011

To start off, I consider myself a logical person and hold no superstition but I cannot rationalize this experience in my head.

One day when I was just a kid, about 8 years old or so, a friend and I were alone in my basement play-room playing with a large blue, plastic helicopter toy that I had received for Christmas.

The helicopter had various buttons that made different helicopter-y noises and so forth, and also had a record function that saved a voice recording, (about 5 secs long) so we could say stupid shit and play it back; to overwrite the thing we had to press ‘record’ again.

We recorded ourselves saying something random and unimportant, but when we played it back we heard something else that made the hair on our necks stand on end. Underneath our chatter we could hear what I can only describe as a “dead” voice. It sounded scratchy and flat, and lacked any inflection. It said “Who are you?” That’s it.

Needless to say this popped our fun balloon very quickly and we ran upstairs to the kitchen to show my mom who was the only other person in the house at the time. We played it back a dozen times in disbelief, but when we tried to play it for my father when he came home the recording was inexplicably replaced with one of the chopper sounds the toy made.

– Posted by Chrsch; Reddit

Leave a Reply

