h1

Go Back To Sleep

May 24, 2011

When I was about six, I was staying at my grandparents’ house when I woke in the night. I noticed that the dots on the wall (where posters had taken off the wallpaper) were moving and dancing. I watched for a while, then turned around to notice that a poster on the wall (of country music star Linda Ronstadt) was also moving. The image of Linda turned round and smiled at me. I turned around again, to see a man standing by my sleeping father. He was around eighteen, wearing a suit. When we made eye contact, he smiled and waved at me, then mouthed ‘go back to sleep’. I did. It wasn’t scary at all; in fact, it was weirdly calming.

In the morning, I told my parents, who assured me it had been a dream, but I was adamant (and still am) that I was not dreaming.

It wasn’t until I was about 11 or 12 that I discovered the most interesting thing about this. While helping my grandpa clear out the loft, I stumbled across a photo of the man I had seen in the room. He was my dad’s brother, who had died in a car crash aged 18. I had heard about him, but until that day I had never seen a photo of him.

I’ve heard my experience described as sleep paralysis before, which I guess could be true, although I was able to sit up and turn around. Also, it doesn’t explain seeing my dead uncle, who I had not seen a photo of at that time.

– Posted by mistressg ; Reddit

Leave a Reply

