h1

Men In Black

May 20, 2011

I used to have a recurring dream of 2 men in black suits that would follow me. They seemed to me to be like newpaper reporters from the 40’s. The strange thing about the different dreams I had of them, was that only *I could see these men… to the rest of my family they were totally invisible. A fact of the dream that was very spooky. I could never figure why I dreamed of these men, and I’m pretty good at figuring out my dreams. A few years back I described them to a friend and he said, “you saw the ‘men in black’!” explaining that the image is a strongly archetypical one in the modern sense… I had no idea.

but one detail I left out… is that one of the men was continually fidgiting with a playing card which he would flip through his fingers as he waited for me to come out of my house. I never saw anyone do this little trick (like some people do with coins) until much later. When later I saw a magician do that I immediately thought of this guy from my dreams.

These guys in suits seemed so spooky, like they came from a different realm… and the fact that in the dreams I was the only one who could see them, was always what *really weirded me out. I’ve often wondered where I “dreamed” up these men in black, especially since I swear to you on my honor that I did so long before knowing that they were a modern archetype. I’d say I was about 7 years old when I had that set of recurring dreams… and yes, I suppose it could be movie or TV imagery that I was recycling… but well… I personally tend to think it wasn’t.

– Posted by Thea 912; alt.folklore.ghost-stories

Leave a Reply

