h1

Hello, Cami!

May 15, 2011

My parents were never married, on account of my father not wanting to live in the US. He would come to visit every couple years. On one visit, we went to the toy store and played with a Yak Bak. He recorded himself saying “Hello, Cami!” on one.

In 2003, my stepdad and I went to the same toy store. They were having a clearance sale and lo and behold, the Yak Baks were included. I played back the messages on them, and to my surprise, one of them had the message my father left me. Logically, there’s no way they kept the same toy around for 5 years without at least one person recording over it. It’s entirely possible it was for a different girl named Cami, but my father had a very thick and recognizable accent. I played it for my stepdad and he thought it sounded exactly like my father.

A couple weeks after that happened, I found out my father had been killed in a car accident.

I don’t know how to feel about all this. Sometimes I think I dreamed it, but my stepdad remembers it as well.

– Posted by insecurelobster; ONTD

Leave a Reply

