h1

Oh, It’s YOU.

May 13, 2011

I have to add a quick story here though while not about a ghost, it still gives me goosebumps.

Several years ago while working as a hospice RN we received a referral for a lady dying of breast cancer. I called her for weeks trying to get her to allow me to come to her house and tell her about hospice. She politely refused each time, assured me that she didn’t need help, blah, blah, blah. I’d call again and again and get nowhere. Her PCP was frantic and insisted that I go anyway and show up unannounced, which I did. Her husband answered the door and let me come in after I explained my mission and he led me to her bedroom. She started laughing when I came in and introduced myself and said “Oh, it’s YOU. I would have let you come out weeks ago if I had known it was YOU!” I was totally confused as I had never laid eyes on her so I ask her how we knew each other. She calmly replied “you don’t know me but I know you, I dream about you every night”. She then went on to tell me that for weeks she’d been having dreams about me and the husband agreed that she had talked of little else.

Let me tell you that I was FREAKED OUT but I kept my composure until I left and then I was just shaking. The patient was very nonchalant about it and didn’t think it at all odd. The end of the story is that I did indeed become her hospice nurse and cared for her for several months until she died. Lovely funny woman that I will remember until I die!

– Posted by Wren; Allnurses

One comment

  1. I just wanted to tell you this brought tears to my eyes that this lady felt so secure with you, even before she met you.



Leave a Reply

