h1

Her Nana was taking care of her little brother and that he would be coming to live with us soon

May 12, 2011

I’ve shared this story on another thread but I believe my daughter gets visited by her great-grandmother. She used to tell us stories about her Nana all of the time which is funny because Nana died two days after my daughter was born. Before she died though, she used to tell me to hurry up and give her a baby girl. She was so excited about having a great granddaughter.

The most alarming story began when my daughter was 2.5 years old. She came to me and told me that her Nana was taking care of her little brother and that he would be coming to live with us soon. I laughed her off because my husband and I were taking every precaution, outside of abstinence, to avoid a pregnancy. I always knew within the first three weeks if I were expecting and there were no symptoms. Anyhow, after a couple of months I started feeling weird. I went to the doctor for a checkup and he decided to do a pregnancy test. The test came back negative. I started taking vitamins and trying to get some extra sleep because I was really dragging. I kept feeling this way for about another month, and I missed my period, so I went back to the doctor. Another pregnancy test, another negative result. We chalked it up to the financial stress we were under. He gave me some medication to bring my period on. After about two weeks the period didn’t come but I kept remembering my daughter telling me about her little brother. Even if the tests had come back positive, my husband and I figured we would terminate the pregnancy because we were in no position to care for another child. I actually called some clinics to get information about the procedure because I’ve never had one and wanted to be informed. After finishing the medication, I went back to the doctor. He gave me another pregnancy test, this one came back positive. I was immediately scheduled for an ultrasound to make sure everything was ok. I found out I was 4.5 months pregnant. Too far along for me to feel ok about terminating. I also found out the baby was a boy. I was floored. Nana told my daughter that she had my baby boy, waiting for him to come home. She still tells us stories about her Nana but she seems to be more uncomfortable now that she is 9 years old.

– Posted by alexillytom; Allnurses

Leave a Reply

