h1

Screamed A Scream I’ll Never Forget

May 9, 2011

When I was about 10 I was home alone doing my home work at the kitchen table. We lived in a old farmhouse in upstate NY.
I remember hearing footsteps on the stairs slowly coming down and I stood up to and started to walk to the stairs. As I started to come around the corner I saw a young woman in a dress staring straight ahead. When I saw her face she grabbed her hair with both hands and screamed a scream I will never forget. I don’t even remember what happened after that. I apparently ran all the way down the driveway and into the people’s house across the street who we didn’t even know. I remember the look on their face as they where sitting down to dinner and I just ran in the front door.

My father was very angry at me as it was embarrassing for him.
I asked my father later on in life if someone had died in the house. He said the previous owners built the house and were still alive at the time living in a old folks home.

Using a genealogy web site I just recently found that they had a daughter who died in NJ at age 22 when I was 10. She was buried in a graveyard a couple miles from our house.

I don’t know if it was real and it was her but it was real too me and scared to fark out of me.

– Posted by fjnorton; Fark

Leave a Reply

