h1

Knocking At The Window

May 9, 2011

My apartment in Luxembourg was in an ancient, pre-WWI building. The insides had been completely renovated, but the facade was still the original stonework. It was actually really pretty.

Anyway, I don’t really believe in ghosts, but I still got freaked out there a couple of times.

Shortly after I moved in, perhaps two weeks or so, I was awoken from my sleep by someone knocking at the window (ground floor apartment). I got out of bed and opened the window only to find no one there. It was four in the morning, no less. The knocking hadn’t been in a dream; it had kept going after I had gotten out of bed. It stopped the instant I opened the curtains.

A few days later, it happened again. This time, thinking it was a prankster knocking on the ground-floor window, I yelled out something in my not-yet-decent French. It immediately stopped.

The knocking at the windows happened every couple of nights, and every night would stop the minute I said something, or the minute I opened the curtains. Sometimes the knocking would continue right up until I got to the curtains to open them; there wouldn’t have been time for someone to run away. There was never anyone there.

Also, once or twice, I would come out of the bathroom, and the TV would be on. I watched TV over there about as much as I watch it here, so I don’t know why or how it had gotten turned on.

Finally, though, the thing that freaked me out the most: I was sitting on the bed one night, playing on the internet. The knocking starts at the window, and I tense up. Right after the knocking starts, the TV turns itself on, and then the knocking stops. I didn’t touch the remote (it was on the other side of the room).

I still don’t know what happened. Possibly steam in the radiator pipes and power surges for the TV, but it was still creepy.

– Posted by Lord Dimwit; Fark

Leave a Reply

