h1

Orange Cone Sitting In The Road

May 8, 2011

I was about 7 years old. My parents and I had this dog (Bogie), he was practically a brother to me since they’d had him since before I was born. Mom and Dad went out someplace for the night and left me home with a sitter, I went to bed. That night I had an extremely vivid dream. I dreamt I was in the backseat of the car with my parents, driving home. They were talking about something, I was leaning forward between the front seats just listening. As my Dad approaches our driveway, I see an orange cone sitting in the road. My parents notice it also, and my Dad pulls over the car. They get out, leaving me in the car (never noticing me, I realized later) and look near the cone. I see my Mom cry out and cover her face with her hands, and my Dad hug her. Then I wake up. Turns out, the sitter had let out our dog and he’d run into the street and been hit by a truck that night. The driver had placed an orange cone (he’d had one in his truck for some reason) next to the body so no one else would run him over (he’d died immediately). I discovered later that events transpired exactly as they had in my dream when my parents returned home.

I knew about my dog dying before I told my parents about the dream, but they never told me any details about their actions, or the orange cone. When I told them about the dream, they were a little freaked out that I knew as much as I did. Whether it was some sort of out-of-body experience or maybe precognition I guess I’ll never know…

– Posted by Anisaria; Reddit

Leave a Reply

