h1

Freight Train

May 4, 2011

I had one strange thing happen. It was around 4:00 am. I was preparing an IV med for one of my pts. As I stepped out of the med room a visitor was there waiting for me. (she was with her dying brother) She asked me to come to her brothers room quickly because his breathing had changed. There were 3 of us working that night and we all stayed in the room with the family until he took his last breath. It was very quiet, and sad. At this time it was about 20 past 4:00 and I suddenly realized that I still had that IV med in my hand. So, I excused myself and went to give my med. As I entered my other pt’s room, (which was only two rooms away) I found her wide awake and scared. I asked her what was wrong and she said,”What was that?!?” I told her I didn’t know what she meant and she answered, “I woke up because it was as if a freight train just came right through here!”
I reassured her that evrything was OK, that she must have been dreaming, administered her med and got outta there!!

– Posted by nbnurse95; Allnurses

Leave a Reply

