h1

Mailbox

May 2, 2011

I saw something otherworldly once. I was at havurah retreat (a conference dedicated to the Jewish concept of tikkun olam ) with my parents when I was about 9 or 10. I had been making knotted bracelets with a friend and had an unfinished one tied to my sneaker with the loose ends in my hand so I was walking with a kind of giddy-humptey shuffle back to the cabin where my parents were. I turned to my right as I was crossing a path and looked toward the artificial pond in the middle of the quad. Standing there, in the light of a streetlamp I saw a very tall figure (maybe 7′) with a head like a mailbox, holding the hand of a small child in a yellow rain-jacket and boots. As I stared, the figure opened its mailbox mouth and made a drawn-out sighing noise. The child released the figure’s hand and began to run toward me. I was terrified but I didn’t run, but slowly turned back and walked on to the cabin, trying to convince myself I hadn’t seen what I had seen. I did forget about my bracelet and when I got back to the cabin, it had bunched into an un-salvageable knot. When I told the rabbi the next day about what I had seen and made the sound the figure had made, he told me it sounded like chai. I’m convinced, to this day, that I saw something not of this world, though I hesitate to identify it as a ghost.

– Posted by ; Reddit.

Leave a Reply

